Accidental Saints: Finding God in All the Wrong People

 Accidental Saints: Finding God in All the Wrong People took me by surprise. When I came across this book the title intrigued me. Still, as I ordered it I was fully expecting the same old, same old book written with an excellent “religious” filter that would lull me into a bored stupor as I tried to get through it in order to write a review. I went for it with gusto hoping for the best anyway and I’m so glad that I did! Nadia Bolz-Weber is the author and unorthodox pastor of House for All Sinners and Saints located in Denver, Colorado. Her humanity and unashamed honesty gripped me from the first chapter. It’s absolutely refreshing and I love everything that this woman of God stands for. That being said, a disclaimer is in need. Nadia is no holds bar and language is no exception. Accidental Saints is absolutely written for a mature audience and if you are mature enough to throw out your “religious” filter you will without a doubt learn a thing or two about Grace! I do not consider myself a “religious” person as the way I read it the “religious” people of Jesus’ day were the one’s who hid their own sin condemning everyone else with their dirty hands and yet Nadia made my “religious” bones stand up a time or two. I absolutely loved it! I found myself growing in Grace and forgiveness through the entirety of Accidental Saints. The book is a collection of Nadia’s first hand, un-watered down experiences as a pastor, student, and friend. You get the whole truth and nothing but. You will fall in love with the congregation at House for All and their simplistic approach to the Gospel and just might be inspired to as Nadia suggests “gather a small number of people once a month to simply share a meal and pray together. Talk about your lives and what is happening in the world. Be yourselves. Extend grace. Read the gospel…and repeat”.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for review.

Leave a Reply

