It’s Good to Be Queen Giveaway!

  

It’s Good to Be Queen: Becoming as Bold, Gracious, and Wise as the Queen of Sheba written by Liz Curtis Higgs first caught my attention by the number of great reviews it received and the title itself and who in their right mind doesn’t want if not need to become more bold, wise, and gracious?!. The Queen of Sheba is not someone I had studied even though her name is tossed about quite regularly ( Well who do you think you are? The Queen of Sheba or something…) and digging a little deeper in to who she actually was, was something I decided to do when I got ahold of this book. First glance of this book was a little “cheesy” for me. The cover seemed, I don’t know, maybe thrown together quickly as if the illustrator could not come up with an image idea in time and just went with the obvious. Not that it’s bad but it could have been better. The quality however is excellent. The material used  feels substantial and has texture which I love. 

The book is very well written and easy to follow along with. The author takes you on a journey breaking down every line written in scripture (which are few but she manages a book on them!) about the Queen of Sheba and her quest for knowledge. She gives you personal experiences and lessons along the way that are heart warming and thought provoking as well. At the end of every chapter “Sheba” makes a personal appearance summing up the words you have read. I adore the idea of what Sheba might have spoken were she to speak directly to you about her experiences. 

As a study tool this book is excellent! It gets the mind thinking farther than the words written about Sheba and carries a guide of its own in the back of the book. If however you are looking for a book to read for simple enjoyment this book may not be as entertaining for you.

 Even though I enjoyed the book and the writing style I had a difficult time getting through it. I lost interest about halfway in and it was work to pick it back up but all in all I really enjoyed it. I think if you love history you’ll enjoy the book and I am confident that if you are looking to get to know a little more about who the Queen of Sheba might have been and what in the world would possess her to leave her kingdom to seek out the knowledge of a King she had heard tell about you will find that on the pages of It’s Good to be Queen: Becoming as Bold, Gracious, and Wise as the Queen of Sheba! 

Annnddd…without further ado. I did have a small response to my latest post; To Giveaway…or not To Giveaway. That is the question. Even though the response was small I have decided I am going to host my very first giveaway because every last follower is important in my book! I will be giving away one copy of the book in our book look today! The only stipulations are that you must be a follower of saltvault, you must be 18 or older as I will need an address from you to send the book, and I do apologize to my international friends but this giveaway is only open to US residents…to enter the giveaway like this post and leave a comment about why you would like to have the book! I will randomly draw a winner 10/15/15 and will post the winners name and how to exchange shipping information! Should the winner not respond within 48 hrs I will draw again. Best of luck!  

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

3 Replies to “It’s Good to Be Queen Giveaway!”

  1. Things are looking good for you HannahKate-TX! Today is the last day to enter the giveaway and you are the only contestant as of yet! I’ll be wrapping this giveaway up tomorrow so you just may be our winner by default!

    Like

Leave a Reply

